Most incumbents will face competition on the Nov. 8 ballot for elected offices representing the City of Morgan Hill and the Morgan Hill Unified School District, according to local elections officials.

The qualifying period to appear on the Nov. 8 ballot ended Aug. 12 for the offices of Morgan Hill Mayor and City Council Districts B and D, with the incumbents submitting nomination paperwork for all three seats.

Also appearing on the Nov. 8 ballot will be four trustees’ seats on the MHUSD Board of Education, constituting a majority of the seven seats on the governing board. The only seat where the incumbent has not qualified is Trustee Area 3, which is currently occupied by Heather Orosco. 

Orosco told the Times Aug. 15 that she is not planning to run to retain her seat on Nov. 8. She ran unopposed for the MHUSD seat in 2018.

Because the incumbent did not qualify before Aug. 12, the qualifying period for the Trustee Area 3 seat will remain open until Aug. 17, according to elections officials.

In the meantime, two other candidates have qualified for the Trustee Area 3 seat, according to the Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters’ unofficial list of candidates. These are business owner Dennis Paul Delisle and attorney Armando Benavides.

The county’s unofficial list also includes the following candidates and offices, for which the deadline to run was Aug. 12:

– MHUSD Trustee Area 1: Incumbent Wendy Sullivan; retired educator Nancy Altman-Palm.

– MHUSD Trustee Area 2: Incumbent John Horner; realtor/broker James Dill.

– MHUSD Trustee Area 4: Businesswoman Pamela Gardiner; incumbent Carol Gittens.

– Morgan Hill Mayor: Public affairs consultant and former city council member Larry Carr; Gilroy Chamber President Mark Turner; and incumbent Rich Constantine, a retired City of San Jose firefighter.

– Morgan Hill City Council District B: Incumbent Yvonne Martinez Beltran; and pastor and business owner Bryan Sutherland.

– Morgan Hill City Council District D: Incumbent John McKay; former city council member Marilyn Librers.

– Santa Clara Valley Water District Director John Varela is the only candidate who has qualified to run for his District 1 seat on the board of directors.

The Nov. 8 ballot also includes runoff elections for numerous statewide, regional, county and special district offices. To see the county registrar’s unofficial list of candidates, visit

Previous articleNew school bell schedules aim to improve learning
Next articleLocal organizations can apply for AAUW grants
Michael Moore is an award-winning journalist who has worked as a reporter and editor for the Morgan Hill Times, Hollister Free Lance and Gilroy Dispatch since 2008. During that time, he has covered crime, breaking news, local government, education, entertainment and more.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here